Categories
Book Reviews

ARC Review: We Spread by Iain Reid

Booksta || Twitter || Goodreads || StoryGraph || 25+ Book Discord

Happy spooky season, readers! Today I have an ARC book review for my first horror read of the season, We Spread by Iain Reid. You might be familiar with this author’s work if you’ve read I’m Thinking of Ending Things. The book is set to release later this month, so check it out if this spoiler-free review sounds up your alley!

I’ll start first by saying that this writer has such an ability to write eerie prose that makes me feel claustrophobic and uncomfortable. Both books I’ve read of Reid’s have pulled me in right from the start; I truly think he’s an excellent writer.

Plot

The book start with 92-year-old former artist, Penny, is living in the remnants of the apartment she shared with her lifelong partner until he passed away. She’s lonely, frightened, and slowly withering away with no social contact to keep her brain engaged. As her health begins to fail, she experiences a fall which lands her in a long-term facility.

Allegedly, this facility is one that she and her partner had picked out themselves back when they were making end of life arrangements. “Allegedly” because Penny doesn’t remember doing this at all. But once she gets to the facility, Penny flourishes under the staff’s care. She’s painting again for the first time in years and she’s socializing with the other patients- both things she thought she would never do again.

Soon after her arrival though, Penny begins feeling paranoid as she starts losing her grip on time. They never leave the facility and all the days are blending together. Penny doesn’t remember the things she has allegedly said and done there. She starts to wonder if her mental capabilities are truly failing her or if there is something more sinister going on.

Spoiler-Free Review

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed I’m Thinking of Ending Things. I loved the awkward and quirky creepy factor of that book. This book felt similarly paranoid, but without the clean explanation of what was happening. We Spread leans heavily into ambiguousness to the point that, from the other reviews I’ve read and from my own experience, it’s very difficult to ‘get’ what was actually happening. Some people are okay with just the Vibes in a book, but for me it felt like a bit of a waste to have no real conclusion or understanding in the end.

That being said, this is the first time I’ve read a horror book through the perspective of an elderly woman and that was an experience all on its own. I think most of us have some level of fear when it comes to aging and dying. This book plays on all of those fears and then some. I still enjoyed reading this book because Reid’s books are a whole ‘experience’ for me. I just wish the ending had been a bit more concrete.

By Casper, The Book Analyst

I write all sorts of bookish blog posts from TBR lists, to new releases, to ARC book reviews, and everything in between. I'm always looking for more bookworm friends so let's get to know each other!

25+ Bookish Discord Server: https://discord.gg/mERkYRyVhd

Leave a comment